Lunch At My Grandparents

There’s nothing more satisfying to me than to cook a great meal that is much appreciated. This menu is one I created recently for a family lunch at my grandmother’s home.

Gazpacho

Salmon Poached in Olive Oil

(from The Slow Mediterrenean Cookbook)

Basque Chicken

(from my Cordon Bleu notebooks)

Buttered Rice

Apple Pastis with Vanilla Ice Cream

(from The Slow Mediterrenean Cookbook)

I made everything, except the Salmon and Pastis, a day before. The Pastis is a pie made of crisp layers of filo and thinly sliced apple compote, had I made it a day before the filo would have become soggy so I made the compote a day before and assembled and baked the pie the morning of the luncheon. As for the salmon dish, it needed to be cooked fresh because reheating would have made it tough. The salmon came out meltingly tender and perfectly seasoned.

Leave a comment